Off Beat Music Guide

Concert Review: Vampire Weekend April 14, 2010

Filed under: Concerting,Music — bethstephenson84 @ 12:32 pm
Tags:

Where: The Tabernacle- Atlanta, GA

When: April 8, 2010

On the list of things that make me happy, somewhere near the top you might find these three things: having fun, listening to good music and watching white guys dance. Luckily for me I hit the happiness jackpot last week at the Vampire Weekend concert.

The opening band, Abe Vigoda, was a dud to say the least. Understandably, opening bands need to be a little less awesome than the headliner (with the exception of Dirty Projectors, who were much better than their headliner, TV on the Radio) but this was either a bad night for the band or a bad pick on the part of VW. Whatever the case, I found Abe Vigoda to be uninspired, copy-cat versions of whatever 80’s band is on the Pretty in Pink soundtrack. Nothing new or fresh from this band. Sorry, but I am feeling brutal today.

Vampire Weekend on the other hand was just as you would expect them to be: young, energetic and fun. But I think I was most (pleasantly) surprised by how good they sound live; almost the exact vocal quality of their albums. Ezra Koenig breezed through falsetto riffs and didn’t lose a beat on that tongue-twister “Cousins.” And the harmonies were nothing short of pop  loveliness.

As for the white boy dance moves, I’ve never seen any better than those of bassist Chris Baio. I could have come to the concert just to see Baio’s moves and I would have left completely satisfied. This boy’s prancing faun-like moves are truly amazing; something to be marveled at.

The band did a nice job of incorporating songs from both Vampire Weekend and Contra into the setlist. Here’s how it went down:

  1. White Sky
  2. Holiday
  3. Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa
  4. I Stand Corrected
  5. M79
  6. Bryn
  7. California English
  8. Cousins
  9. Taxi Cab
  10. Run
  11. A-Punk
  12. One (Blake’s Got A New Face)
  13. Diplomat’s Son
  14. Giving Up the Gun
  15. Campus
  16. Oxford Comma

Encore:

  1. Horchata
  2. Mansard Roof
  3. Walcott

I think the Tabernacle probably oversold tickets to this show which made the viewing a little uncomfortable, but I still had a really good time. I think it’s just humanly impossible to be unhappy when you hear these guys play live.  “Fun” just sums it up nicely.

Here are some videos I shot at the concert. Pardon the girl in front of me who insisted on doing her hippie dance throughout the entire concert…what can you do? And if you’d like a laugh, check out my video for “Run” where I bust it about ¾ of the way through. Classic Beth move. Enjoy!

And as always, you can check out more videos from this show and other’s on my YouTube channel.

Cousins


Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa

White Sky

Run

 

Leave a Reply

