Off Beat Music Guide

Concert Review: Band of Horses (NYE Show) January 6, 2010

Filed under: Concerting,Music — bethstephenson84 @ 6:05 pm
Tags:

I don’t buy into the hype of New Year’s too much. Call me a dreamer, but I generally prefer to start years off on a mediocre note so I feel like the best is yet to come. But this year, the opportunity to kick off 2010 with one of my favorite bands was just too delicious to pass up.

Band of Horses wrangled up their legions followers (for the second New Years in a row) to play one of my favorite venues in my world, the Tabernacle in Atlanta. I had seen these guys play this past summer in Charlotte and was blown away by their talent (and I’m not just talking about  their abilities to grow facial hair, although that is impressive). The energy these guys put into their concerts is sort of mesmerizing, especially considering their albums aren’t what you would call completely high energy. Don’t get me wrong, they have up-tempo music but they are best known for their softer, sweeter numbers like “No One’s Gonna Love You” and “Detlef Schempf”.

And while they performed both of those songs at this show, the softness of the album just doesn’t translate to their live show, in a good way. Indeed, it is their infectious energy that makes these concerts so fun. Lead singer, Ben Bridwell is so laid back in his concert banter that it’s no wonder why their albums come across in the same manner. And it somehow makes their beer bottle busting music video for “No One’s Gonna Love You” that much more enjoyable knowing how approachable and funny these guys are. During the 3 hour show, some loony jumped on stage to take the mic and some girl through her ginormous purse on stage and the band seemed to get just as big of a kick out of these shenanigans as we did; something that cannot be said of other, more uptight bands I have seen this year.

Here’s what it boils down to: this wasn’t the best concert I’ve seen all year, but it was entertaining as hell. My one complaint, which was shared by the other ten people  concerting with me, was the band’s show ending rendition of “We Are The World”.  Now, I know these guys are a bit of jokesters and I am holding out hope that this was their New Year’s prank on us all, but I can’t help but wish they would have ended the show with the crowd favorite “Ode to the LRC” with everyone singing in unison “the world is such a wonderful place…la dee da da”. A girl can dream….

I got a lot of great footage from the show and in case you were wondering if my night was so spectacular that the rest of my year will be ruined because of it, fear not; completely sober and ever-so-graceful me fell down a flight of stairs at the end of the show. The good news here is that 2010 can only go up from here! Enjoy the videos.

 

Leave a Reply

