Off Beat Music Guide

Now Hear This October 1, 2009

Filed under: Music,Music News,Now Hear This — bethstephenson84 @ 3:41 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Time for an update on two upcoming projects that I have previously mentioned here.

The first is the Jack Kerouac-inspired collaboration album of  Ben Gibbard (Death Cab for Cutie) and Jay Farrar (Son Volt) entitled One Fast Move Or I’m Gone. I mentioned earlier how this album is based upon Jack Kerouac prose and how it’s been about 2 years in the making. Well, luckily for us, NPR’s Fall Music Preview segment included their newly released track  “These Roads Don’t Move” from the previously mentioned album. It’s got a very alt-country vibe that I really dig.

Featured on that same NPR segment is BlakRoc, the new hip-hop side project of blues-rock band The Black Keys. The song entitled “Ain’t Nothing Like You (Hoochie Coo)” features the acclaimed rapper, Mos Def. This song is surprisingly fresh and catchy. I was worried that this project would be a little gimmicky, but after hearing this track I am looking forward to hearing the entire album.

I would encourage checking out NPR’s entire Fall Music Preview, which you can listen to here. They also discuss one of my most anticipated albums of the Fall, Dead Man’s Bones from the band of the same name.  Please, please give their song “My Body’s A Zombie For You” a listen. I defy you not to love this song.

 

Leave a Reply

