Off Beat Music Guide

New Music Tuesday September 22, 2009

Filed under: Music,Music News,New Music Tuesday,New Release — bethstephenson84 @ 6:43 pm
Tags: ,

I must say up front that I have not listened to either of these albums in their entirety, but I have been anxiously awaiting them both for months!

MOF Monsters of Folk- Monsters of Folk

When these guys first got together for some gigs, people were blown away by the folk awesomeness. And when they announced that they were going to release an album, people went into folk overload.  Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis (both of Bright Eyes fame) teamed up with M. Ward (She & Him) and Yim Yames (a.k.a. “Jim James” of My Morning Jacket) for some gigs under their own names, but after a few shows, their already large following dubbed them the Monsters of Folk, a name that as you can see stuck with the super group.

I purchase MOF’s EP a couple of months ago (mostly because of my love of M. Ward) and it was worth probably 100 times what I paid for it. The three songs from the EP are all on the self titled album released today, of which my favorite is “Dear God (Sincerely MOF)” because of its smooth, hip hop feel. You better believe that I will be devouring this album as soon as I get home today.

Check out their new video for “The Right Place” here:

davidgraydrawtheline David Gray-Draw The Line

I have been a loyal DG fan since my high school days. I can kind of chart my life (thus far) by David Gray albums, and when I play those albums now I am immediately transported back to a certain time in my life. His music, which ranges from slow and melancholy to pop and electronic, is diverse, beautiful and often odd but I have always found it irresistible…which leads me to his new album, Draw the Line. I tend to have this problem with a lot of artists I have had long-term relationships with: the problem being that I like their albums, even if they are mediocre, because of either nostalgia or loyalty.  I’m going to try desperately to be more discerning with Gray’s new album, but I must say that from the bits that I have heard, it sounds promising.

 

One Response to “New Music Tuesday”

  1. YOBIGSIS Says:

    MOF and David Gray are both superb…I agree, David Gray seems to sing the sound track to my life…sometimes I try to avoid what is really going on therein, but I always come back…


Leave a Reply

