Off Beat Music Guide

Music World Update September 16, 2009

Filed under: Music,Music News — bethstephenson84 @ 4:29 pm
Tags: , , ,

Ahhh…I know, I know, I’ve been such a negligent parent to you, my poor little blog. What with the moving to a new house, my real life job and lack of internet (because of previously mentioned move), I have not given you the proper attention you deserve. I guess the only way to get back into the swing of it is to cover some big topics to get us all up-to-date.

Vampire Weekend Announce Details for New Album

Hipsters all over the world let out a collective sigh of relief when VW announced on their website that their new album, Contra, will drop January, 12 2010. There are no specific details on the creative direction of the album, but frontman Ezra Koenig said that the 10 track album will be an exploration of different sounds and different instruments. Look for these Ivy-leaguers to expand the cool, afro-pop sound created on their self titled debut album while keeping things colorful with their wide array of popped collar polo shirts.

Contra:
1. Horchata
2. White Sky
3. Holiday
4. California English
5. Taxi Cab
6. Run
7. Cousins
8. Giving Up the Gun
9. Diplomat’s Son
10. I Think Ur a Contra

Decemberists to End Tour with Animated Performance

I have not attempted to keep my love affair with The Decemberists’ Hazards of Love album/saga a secret (mostly because it’s pointless, considering I have taken it upon myself to be a one woman crusader for this album; spreading the goodness to all who have not heard), so this news fills me with simultaneous excitement and sadness. For the band’s last performance of their US tour, they will unleash Here Come the Waves: Hazards of Love Visualized, a four-part animated film which will be synced to the full live performance of Hazards. I am giddy with the undoubted amazingness of this film which Paste Mag describes as being ” packed with rich visuals like lapping waves, precious bones and, um, wombs spilling out babies,” but I am heartsick that I will not be in attendance at the Oct. 19 show at UCLA’s Royce Hall (because I am a slave to the Man). Hopefully someone will be kind enough to put this on YouTube and I, of course, will pass it along.

SonVolt and Death Cab Frontmen Team Up for Kerouac Album and Tour

Jay Ferrar and Ben Gibbard of Son Volt and Death Cab, respectively, have teamed up to convert Jack Kerouac’s prose into song and verse for their album One Fast Move or I’m Gone: Kerouac’s Big Sur due out Oct. 20.  In support of this project, the musicians will perform a series of 4 concerts where they will perform the new songs as well as surprise material. This project sounds pretty promising but as expected, they will be coming no where near North Carolina…a girl can dream though.

Oct. 23 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ El Rey Theatre
Oct. 24 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Bimbo’s 365 Club
Oct. 26 – Chicago, Ill. @ Lincoln Hall
Oct. 28 – New York, N.Y. @ Webster Hall

 

Leave a Reply

