Off Beat Music Guide

The Introduction August 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bethstephenson84 @ 12:30 pm

Because I will be long winded in the next few posts, I want to keep this as short as possible. I’m Beth, and I really like music. All types of music. And while I think that people can have favorite artists or genres of music, I think there are fundamental things that make musicians and artists great no matter what classification their music might fall under.

That being said, I wanted to create a blog to talk about music. New music, old music, concerts, upcoming releases…anything really. I will say that I can be very sharp and opinionated at times, so if I step on the toes of a favorite artist, please forgive me and realize that these are just the opinions of little old me.

To start the blog off with a bang, I decided to outline my top 5 Albums of 2009 (so far). This has been a very exciting year in music and promises to continue to be with all of the artists set to release before the end of the year.

Before I unleash my picks, it is important for me to note that I am of the old school of thought where artists are not good artists unless they create a good album. That means I judge an artist and album on the entire track list not just a good song. The rationale behind this is that almost anyone can be a one hit wonder, but for an artist to truly be great, they must create an experience with the entire album. I want to put on headphone, press play, and let the music tell the whole story. So now that you know my criteria for the list, I will begin posting. I have chosen 5 albums, and because that was extremely hard, I need to give some honorable mention.

HM

* Grizzly Bear- Veckatimest : Beautiful harmonies, unique instruments and the sometimes strange lyrics make this album really breathtaking. It’s an indie kid’s dream.

* Dark Was the Night- Various Artists : I have never seen a compilation like this before! Amazing artists like Bon Iver, The National, Sufjan Stevens and Yo La Tengo came together for a good cause with previously unreleased tracks and remakes. They changed music for the better this year in the process.

*The Dead Weather- Horehound : When I heard of the collaboration of Jack White, Alison Mosshart (of The Kills), Dean Fertita (of Queens of the Stone Age) and Jack Lawrence (of The Raconteurs) my head almost exploded from the potential awesomeness. I was not disappointed. Raw rock and roll at its best

 

Leave a Reply

